​Schedules, Costs, Policies and Registration Information

     Classroom instructed cost per class is $10 per credit hour. For example a 3 hour class is $30 and a 1.5 hour class is $15.   If a class is being offered for Virginia, Washington D.C. or Maryland continuing education credit it will be noted in the schedule below in the "Jurisdiction" box. The number of continuing education credit hours will be stated in the "Credits" box.  The address of the classroom location can be found on our Locations page (see grey Menu bar to the right of this text). $10 fee for each additional jurisdiction certificate and a $10 late registration fee for 'walk-ins". 

     Once you have found the classes and locations you desire, register online by clicking on the "Register" tab on the menu  bar. The Academy of Real Estate's classroom polices and requirements can be found on this page below the schedule of classes. Seating reservations will not be confirmed until payment has been received. 

 Click HERE to register online

Click HERE for a paper application you can submit by fax or email.

Real Estate Continuing Education Classes

Maryland, D.C. & Virginia 

​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​##########################################

 Real Estate License Renewal Requirements

##########################################Maryland

     All licensees must complete 15 hours of continuing education

  • Brokerage Relationships & Disclosures (formerly titled MREC Agency - Residential) is required for all residential agents every two (2) years.  Solely commercial agents should take the MREC Agency - Commercial class instead.
  • MREC Supervision is required for all brokers, designated branch managers and teams leaders every two (2) years. (may be used as elective for everyone else.)
  • No reduction in hours for a licensee possessing a graduate degree in law.
  • No reduction in hours for a licensee possessing a graduate degree in real estate.

There is no grace period for obtaining the required hours.  If the license expires, the licensee will be required to have the proper hours completed prior to renewal of a license, even if renewing as inactive. A license may remain inactive for only 3 years.  The Academy strictly follows the guidelines set forth by the real estate commissions. Photo ID is now required to be admitted to class (MD credit classes). Maryland Real Estate Commission  rules also require that no certificate will be given when a student arrives late, leaves early or steps out to answer phones. No late arrivals. (no grace period so please arrive early!). ​No electronic devices (laptop, cell phone, etc.) may be left on during class time for any class offering Maryland credit. Seating reservations will not be confirmed until payment has been received. 

Verify Credits Earned (For Use by Licensees to Verify Information Submitted by Education Providers to the Maryland Real Estate Commission.)

Continuing Education Requirements for all licensees: 

SALESPERSONS AND ASSOCIATE BROKERS
RESIDENTIAL  -  Salespersons and Associate Brokers
15 hours which includes 3.0 legislative, 3.0 brokerage relationships & disclosure, 3.0 ethics, 1.5 fair housing (required classes); the remaining 4.5 hours are electives

Commercial Designation (SOLELY - NO RESIDENTIAL BUSINESS) 
Salespersons and Assoc. Brokers

15 hours which includes 3.0 legislative, 3.0 agency, 3.0 ethics (required classes); the remaining 6.0 hours are electives

BROKERS AND DESIGNATED BRANCH OFFICE MANAGERS
​OR TEAM LEADERS

RESIDENTIAL Brokers, Branch Office Managers or Team Leaders

15 hours which includes 3.0 legislative, 3.0 brokerage relationships & disclosure, 3.0 ethics, 3.0 supervision, 1.5 fair housing (required classes); the remaining 1.5 hours are electives

Commercial Designation (SOLELY - NO RESIDENTIAL BUSINESS)

Brokers, Branch Managers or Team leaders

15 hours which includes 3.0 legislative, 3.0 agency, 3.0 ethics, 3.0 supervision (required classes); the remaining 3.0 hours are electives



REMINDERS:

  • Legislative topic (A), ethics topic (D), and agency / brokerage realtionships topic (H) are required Maryland courses for all licensees.
  • Fair housing topic (C) is required for all licensees with a residential license.
  • Supervision topic (I) is required for all brokers, designated branch office managers and team leaders.  
  • The ethics course must include MD Code of Ethics, Flipping and Predatory Lending.

NAR ethics is not a substitute for the Maryland required ethics course.​​


***********************************************

​​                            District of Columbia               

License Renewal Requirements

An applicant for renewal of any:  Real Estate Broker, Associate Broker or Property License which is expiring on February 28, 2019 or Real Estate Salespersons licenses expiring on August 31, 2019, must submit proof of completing 15 hours of approved continuing education in the following subjects:

The 15-hour continuing education (CE) requirement for the current licensing cycle (2017 - 2019) is as follows:
3.0-hrs   DC Fair Housing   
3.0-hrs   DC Legislative Update    
3.0-hrs   DC Ethics  
plus 6.0-hrs    General electives.

Newly licensed brokers, salespersons and property managers are exempt from taking CE courses for the remainder of a licensing cycle during which their license is obtained, but are required to renew the license when that first cycle ends.  CE credits taken by (new) licensees do not roll over and cannot be carried forward into the next cycle.

​For more information, please contact the DC Board of Real Estate at (202) 442-4400.
To renew an existing DC real estate license or review your individual C.E. transcript on the DC Credentials Management System for Certification and Licensing Programs visit: http://www.pulseportal.com/selectStateAndBoard.do​ 

To take additional D.C. continuing education classes online, click here. *

**********************************************************************************

 VIRGINIA    Requirements
​​​The Academy of Real Estate offers a full set of Virginia Real Estate Board approved post-licensing and continuing education classes online.  See our website menu for options.
For Brokers and Experienced Salespersons or click here.

​Section 54.1-2105.03 of the Code of Virginia requires all brokers and salespersons (who have renewed their license at least once before) to complete Board-approved Continuing Education to renew or activate their licenses.

Brokers must complete 24 hours of Continuing Education to renew their licenses. Of these 24 hours, renewing brokers must take:
Eight (8) hours in Broker Management & Agent Supervision;
Three (3) hours in Ethics & Standards of Conduct;
Two (2) hours in Fair Housing;
One (1) hour in Legal Updates and Emerging Trends [including flood instruction];
One (1) hour in Real Estate Agency; and
One (1) hour in Real Estate Contracts.

CLICK HERE FOR VIRGINIA BROKERS CONTINUING EDUCATION CLASSES ONLINE

Experienced Salespersons must complete 16 hours of Continuing Education to renew their licenses. Of these 16 hours, renewing experienced salespersons must take:
Three (3) hours in Ethics & Standards of Conduct;
Two (2) hours in Fair Housing;
One (1) hour in Legal Updates and Emerging Trends [including flood instruction];
One (1) hour in Real Estate Agency; and
One (1) hour in Real Estate Contracts.


The remaining 8 hours for both brokers and experienced salespersons may be in Real Estate Related Subjects (electives) or in the required Continuing Education subjects already referenced. These Continuing Education requirements also apply to inactive brokers and experienced salespersons who apply to activate their licenses.

CLICK HERE FOR ONLINE C.E. COURSES FOR ALL EXPERIENCED VIRGINIA AGENTS. 


Virginia
Post-Licensing Requirements Effective as of January 1, 2019:


Section 54.1-2105.01 of the Code of Virginia requires all active new salesperson licensees to complete a Board-approved 30-hour post-license education (PLE) curriculum within one year from the last day of the month in which the license was issued in order to remain on active status.  

Failure to complete these 30 hours of PLE within one year of your license issue date will result in automatic placement of your license on inactive status. 

Beginning January 1, 2019, the 30-hour PLE program will consist of NINE courses:

Fair Housing, ADA and Civil Rights (2 hours)
Real Estate Law and Regulations (6 hours) 
Ethics and Standards of Conduct (3 hours)
Current Industry Issues and Trends (2 hours)
Agency Law (3 hours)
Contract Writing (6 hours)
Risk Management (3 hours)
Escrow Requirements (3 hours)
Real Estate-Related Finance (2 hours)

CLICK HERE FOR ONLINE C.E. COURSE FOR ALL NEW VIRGINIA AGENTS. 

​​

Out-of-State Continuing Education Credit For Virginia Questions:
​The Board will accept up to 8 hours of approved continuing education courses that a broker or experienced salesperson completed in another state, as long as the licensee holds a current real estate license in that other state and completed these continuing education courses during the current two-year license term.

These 8 out-of-state hours can be applied only to the "Real Estate Related Subjects" (elective) Continuing Education category. In order to receive these 8 hours of Continuing Education elective credits in the "Real Estate Related Subjects" category, a licensee must submit:
an original or notarized copy of the current out-of-state license (with its expiration date) AND 
an original or notarized copy of EACH Continuing Education course completion certificate.


Mail the documentation to:
Virginia Real Estate Board
ATTN: Education Section
9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400
Richmond, VA 23233

_________________________________________

Classroom Policies
MD Real Estate Commission information for licensees regarding real estate continuing education can be found at: http://www.dllr.state.md.us/license/mrec/mreclicfactsheet.shtml.

The Academy strictly follows the guidelines set forth by the real estate commission.
1. Photo ID now required to be admitted to class. (Maryland credit classes)
Maryland rules also require that:
2. Students must be physically present during ALL of the offering time.
3. No certificate will be given when a student arrives late, leaves early or steps out to answer phones. No late arrivals. (no grace period so please arrive early)
​4. No electronic devices (laptop, cell phone, etc.) may be left on during class time.

Please be aware: The school is required to deny credit to anyone in violation of these rules.

No one will be admitted into the classroom once the class begins.  You MUST be on time!  Please allow plenty of time for traffic and weather conditions. REFUNDS WILL NOT BE GIVEN FOR LATE ARRIVALS OR IF YOU ARE NOT IN ATTENDANCE FOR THE ENTIRE CLASS!!

Seating reservations will not be confirmed until payment has been received.

Rescheduling
If you are unable to attend a registered class, please notify us within 24 hours of the class to reschedule the class to an alternate date.

Canceled Classes.
We reserve the right to cancel a class due to low enrollment.  We will notify you as soon as possible should the class be canceled.  A refund will be given for canceled classes or you have the option of rescheduling to another date.

Inclement Weather Policy
The Academy and our instructors make every effort to hold classes that you register for, even on ‘snow’ days. If, however, you are unable to attend a class due to inclement weather and you notify the school on that day via e-mail,the Academy will grant you a refund for that day’s classes or credit the same amount toward any rescheduled classes in the future.
If classes are canceled due to inclement weather that information will be posted on this page. Please check the website the morning of the class.


Prices: 

$10 per credit hour.   3 hour credit class is $30,  1.5 hour credit class is $15.
$10 for each additional jurisdiction certificate; 
$10 late registration fee for 'walk-ins"


We also offer distance learning options for Virginia, Washington D.C. and Maryland real estate continuing education online classes. See our website's menu for options.

Return to Top
​Academy of Real Estate 10230 New Hampshire Ave. Suite 102, Silver Spring, MD 20903
  Phone: (888) 786-8173   Fax: (888) 725-7791   E-Mail: AcademyofRealEstate@gmail.com 

​​

​​​​​See Continuing Education Requirements at the bottom of this page.
.

For online classes for MD, DC or VA clickhere.


​                                                                                         Coronavirus Classroom Policy
     We are aware that life must go on and that many licensees need to complete their continuing education requirements, but we must also be prudent and mindful of the appropriate actions which will help ensure the best outcome for everyone.  

​             Please keep in mind that we have a complete set of online C.E. for all Maryland, Washington D.C. and Virginia agents.  See our online pages for more information.

      

News Flash! Maryland  has enacted an order allowing for the extension of all expiration dates for professional licenses issued by Maryland state agencies until the 30th day after the Maryland state of emergency ends.If you have questions regarding your real estate license expiration date, or if you would like to request an extension, please contact the Maryland Real Estate Commission.  

Virginia DPOR has also extended the expiration date of all real estate licenses, until the 30th day after the date by which the state of emergency is lifted. 

   We will make a decision on future classroom offerings as we go forward in time.  Please check this page periodically for any changes or updates to the schedule. We have a very liberal refund / reschedule policy. You may request a refund, credit or rescheduling of your previously scheduled class.

Scroll down for the continuing education classroom schedules. 

(888) 725-7791

(888) 786-8173